The Eight Types of Dementia


Dementia involves decline in memory, and at least one of the following:

  • Inability to generate coherent speech and understand spoken or written language.
  • Inability to recognize or identify objects.
  • Inability to execute motor activities.
  • Inability to think abstractly, make sound judgments and plan and carry out complex tasks.

The different types of dementia are associated with distinct symptom patterns and / or microscopic abnormalities in the brain. The common types of dementia are:

  1. Alzheimer’s Disease
  2. Vascular Dementia
  3. Dementia with Lewy Bodies
  4. Normal Pressure Hydrocephalus
  5. Mild cognitive impairment (MCI).
  6. Frontotemporal Dementia
  7. Parkinson’s disease often results in dementia in the later stages. This involves Lewy bodies (abnormal deposits of the protein alpha-synuclein) inside nerve cells in the brain.
  8. Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease (and “Variant Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease”) caused by abnormal prion proteins in the brain.

There may also be mixed dementia.

Full Text Link


DeMarco, B. (2010). Dementia and the Eight Types of Dementia. Alzheimer’s Reading Room, August 27th 2010.

About Dementia and Elderly Care News

Dementia and Elderly Care News. Wolverhampton Medical Institute: WMI. (jh)
This entry was posted in For Carers (mostly), For Nurses and Therapists (mostly), Quick Insights and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.