NHS Patient Experience Framework (Department of Health)


This guidance outlines the areas of most importance to patients’ experience of NHS services. They are:

  1. Respect for patient-centred values, preferences, and expressed needs.
  2. Coordination and integration of care across the health and social care system.
  3. Information, communication, and education.
  4. Physical comfort.
  5. Emotional support.
  6. Welcoming the involvement of family and friends.
  7. Transition and continuity.
  8. Access to care.

This common evidence-based list of what matters to patients is based on a modified version of the Picker Institute Principles of Patient-Centred Care. This list of priorities could be used to guide efforts to improve services and / or to help decide which questions to ask patients (and carers) in surveys, feedback sessions etc.

Full Text Link


Department of Health (2012). NHS Patient Experience Framework. London: Department of Health, February 2012. Gateway Reference Number 17273.

About Dementia and Elderly Care News

Dementia and Elderly Care News. Wolverhampton Medical Institute: WMI. (jh)
This entry was posted in Department of Health, For Nurses and Therapists (mostly), National, NHS, Practical Advice, Quick Insights, UK, Universal Interest and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.